• Categories

  • Pick me!

TOS Review: Time 4 Learning

A curriculum I was given to review this past month is an online interactive program called Time 4 Learning.  Time 4 Learning is an online interactive multimedia curriculum for PreK to 8th grade.  It covers Language Arts, Math, Science and Social Studies and lessons are correlated to state standards and reports of your student’s progress are available for record-keeping purposes.  Related online curriculum are Time 4 Writing and Spelling City.

Something changed in our house about a month ago…“Can I do school on the computer?” became the new “Can I have another cookie?”  I first logged on to the program and each child, from the 2-year-old up to my 7-year-old was instantly engaged by the animated characters, music and activities within the program.  This educational program is a virtual Pied Piper!

After logging in with a user name and password, subject links appear and the child then selects “yes” or “no” to continue in the subject.  Prior to using this program, none of my children had spent time on my computer but they caught on quickly to the games and activities which require “touch and drag” and tapping to select.  I’m so proud of them!  Silly, I know.

Since I was given the Preschool level to review, I’ll talk about my 4 and 5 year olds who spent the most time using the program.  My non-reading four-year-old gained the most from the Preschool level activities, whereas, the same activities were all review for my reading five-year-old.  I would select one grade up for her if I were to purchase a membership for her to use.

The Preschool level includes such subjects: the alphabet, numbers, shapes, colors, feelings and weather.  Each subject consists of four or five activities such as story time (with song), matching and memory games and coloring.  At the completion of the activities within the subject, the child is asked to select whether they thought it was “not very fun”, “sort of fun” or “very fun”.  My children selected “very fun” 100 percent of the time!

I loved not having to download any files to my computer to utilize this program.  The ease of use is unrivaled.  I also enjoyed being able to assign school to a child and then for that child to be independent for a while as he or she worked through whichever subjects interested them.  The reinforcement of what we have been learning was valuable and it was fun to watch their faces light up with every animated badge they earned or “good job!” from an animated character.  Having four young children at home, Time 4 Learning is a fabulous tool to keep certain children busy while I work one on one with another child.

At $19.95 a month for the first child and $14.95 a month per additional student, the cost is a little much for me to justify for our family.  That said, under different circumstances, I would purchase a couple of Time 4 Learning memberships to use as a computer time reward, as a supplement or as a back-up plan for days when mommy isn’t feeling well enough to conduct the usual lessons.

Overall, I recommend this program for home school and non home school children.  Also, I can see this program being especially beneficial for children who would rather play games than learn.  *wink*

Check out the interactive lesson demos to see why Time 4 Learning may be a good fit for your child(ren)!

This product was given to me in exchange for review.  I did not receive any other form of compensation.

3 Responses

  1. Hi! Stopping by from the crew to check out your review. Love it! Have a wonderfully blessed day!

  2. Hey…it’s me again. 🙂 After I hit submit…I noticed it pulled the wrong website address for me…here is my homeschool blog address. 🙂

  3. I’m visiting from the crew. I have been looking forward to the reviews for this one. I’m glad your little ones liked it. I think mine would, too. Thanks for the information.

Leave a Reply

